Network of European Restitution Committees

One year after the foundation of the Network of European Restitution Committees, Austria will take over the chairmanship for the year 2020. Until now, France has held this position under the leadership of Jérôme Bénézech and his CIVS team.
Last year, five European commissions were set up for the Network to research and return cultural property confiscated during the Nazi era. These commissions come from Germany, France, Great Britain, the Netherlands and Austria. Austria's chairmanship, represented by the Commission for Provenance Research, is intended to continue to promote close transnational cooperation, which will make it possible to find joint legal solutions to questions concerning the restitution of looted art objects across national borders.

Further information: Network of European Restitution Committees